Thiemo Wind

Jacob van Eyck and the Others – Dutch Solo Repertoire for Recorder in the Golden Age

Muziekhistorische Monografieën 21

Utrecht: Koninklijke Vereniging voor Nederlandse Muziekgeschiedenis (KVNM), 2011

754 pages; full color; 362 music examples

ISBN: 978 90 6375 219 4

Price: €85,-
Available from August 27, 2011

The monophonic music from Der Fluyten Lust-hof  by Jacob van Eyck (c.1590–1657) is the stock-in-trade of professional recorder players worldwide. In the present book the repertoire is scrutinized from a variety of perspectives: sources, transmission, interpretation, and the boundaries between improvisation and composition, to name but a few. In order to place Van Eyck’s oeuvre in a broader context, the author has chosen to extend the scope of his research to include comparable works by Dutch contemporaries (Paulus Matthijsz, Jacob van Noordt, Johan Dicx and Pieter de Vois). The last four chapters focus on various aspects of performance practice.